• Instagram Icon
  • Vimeo Icon
  • YouTube Icon
  • Nextdoor Icon
  • Search Icon

City News Blog: Lakeland City Commissioner receives American Public Power Association’s public official award

San Diego, California, June 11, 2024 | Stephanie Madden, City Commissioner for the city of Lakeland, Florida, received the Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award during the American Public Power Association’s National Conference in San Diego, California. The award recognizes elected or appointed local officials who have contributed to the goals of the American Public Power Association (APPA).

Madden was first elected City Commissioner in 2018, at which point she was assigned to oversee the city’s electric utility, Lakeland Electric. Since that time, she has been an active member of the Florida Municipal Electric Association and APPA, meeting with industry professionals in her personal time to learn about the industry, in addition to attending FMEA and APPA conferences, webinars, and meetings. Madden stays up to date on policy and technology developments affecting the utility industry, with a particular passion for hydrogen technologies. She leverages this knowledge to effectively advocate for public power during City Commission meetings and as a member of APPA’s Policy Makers Council since 2020. Madden will serve as PMC Chair from July 2025 to July 2026.


Contact Tobias Sellier Senior Director of Media Relations and Communications at TSellier@PublicPower.org or 202-467-2927

The American Public Power Association is the voice of not-for-profit, community-owned utilities that power 2,000 towns and cities nationwide. We represent public power before the federal government to protect the interests of the more than 49 million people that public power utilities serve, and the 96,000 people they employ. Our association advocates and advises on electricity policy, technology, trends, training, and operations. Our members strengthen their communities by providing superior service, engaging citizens, and instilling pride in community-owned power.